Fun with RFID!

RFID stands for Radio-Frequency IDentification. It actually refers to small electronic devices that consist of a small strange chip and an antenna. The chip is capable of carrying 2,000 bytes of data or less(as what I have read from somewhere…lolzz).

The RFID device serves the same purpose as a bar code or a magnetic strip on the back of a credit card or ATM card; it provides a unique identifier for that object. And, just as a bar code or magnetic strip must be scanned to get the information, the RFID device must be scanned to retrieve the identifying information.

So, that was the introduction with the RFID.  My RFID device is from MAC-NET technologies and it works on 125KHz.

Actually whenever I am demotivated, I use to shout saying anything that makes me feel better, or play any Rock song!

Recently I developed a habit of shouting MANNN, YOU ARE JUST AWESOME, so everytime I do anything good or demotivated ; I scream it. It is actually a LOL sort of activity…:)

By co-incidence I saw my RFID lying nearby in my Electronics stuff.  So I struck with an idea,
why not to automate my AWESOMENESS…!! :))).

Actually I thought of not screaming myself but making my pc and speaker like it.  So, I just made a simple C program interfacing with Serial port and automated this task with my RFID.

It woks as simple as this: Whenever I take my Card to the RFID, the audio gets played via VLC in my PC saying MANNNN YOU ARE AWESOME..

Just give a look to the video here:

For the software part, I simply used the Serial Port for the incoming data and then verified it and thus conditionally exec`d the vlc with my audio sound..

You may see the code too:

http://www.4shared.com/file/XJdNsZnD/rfid_act.html

Do leave your views and doubts if any..

About Beyond

an electronics hobbyst, 8 bit microcontroller(8051/AVR/Arduino) programmer, Linux lover, in love with Embedded Linux systems ... TGL: just push it "BEYOND THE LIMITS"..

Posted on July 12, 2012, in 8-Bit Embedded World, Embedded Linux, Linux and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Lol..great work! 😀
    Mann u r awesome! 😉

  2. Good work dude. i think You should share your code in github.com instead of 4shared.com

  3. yeah, very sure hack4geek, thanks for your suggestion.

Leave a Reply

